Dinner is served: @jamieoliver inspired hoisin duck lettuce wrap (15 MINUTE MEALS)

20130122-122230.jpg

Dinner Is Served!

I cooked this for dinner and it was DELICIOUS! Admittedly amended Jamie’s instructions here and there where it was fit, and took abit longer than 15 minutes but no harm done!

20130122-122206.jpg

What you will need:

  • Limes
  • Honey
  • Hoi Sin Sauce
  • Duck Breast (2)
  • Lettuce Leaves (Baby Gem)
  • Chilli Oil
  • Coriander
  • Sesame oil
  • Sesame Seeds
  • Chinese 5 Spice
  • Garlic

This is a real refreshing dish, so summery with a mixture between a vietnamese salad and chinese duck wrap dish. Since my Kate Eaten Livefit training I have been saying goodbye to all things oily, and carby and hello to healthy living. I love lettuce wraps because it is the rare time that I don’t seek bread. Lettuce is substantial in flavour, texture and shape to accommodate my meat with little need from anything else.

20130122-122215.jpg

First I diced my duck (skin’s on for extra crispiness, or off for a more healthy option). I then cut the bottom of the stork off of the gem lettuce, rinsed and drained the leaves and placed them in a circular shape on the plate. After this I start prepping the duck by seasoning it with salt pepper and Chinese 5 spice. I coat it and leave it while I fine chop garlic, put into a bowl with lime juice (as much as you want depending on how much you want it to counter the honey, I put 1 and a half limes) and 5 generous spoons of Hoi Sin Sauce.

After stirring this together you have successfully made your drizzle sauce. You pour olive oil into a plan on high heat and flash fry duck until crispy then lowering setting for it to cook through. If you have left the skins on and are finding the fattiness is make it stew rather than brown off, take it off the heat and place in the grill for a few minutes. I hate when skins are not crispy! Jamie did not tell me it may not brown if its too fatty! (15 minute meal timing = game over)

20130122-122156.jpg

When it seems cooked (Use judgement, ie. light pinky inner and brown outside), Remove off heat and take out all excess liquid to make it more healthy. Then add honey (as much as you want, I did it until all were coated with little excess at the bottom of the pan) mix and let simmer until adequately coated.

20130122-122222.jpg

 

Jamie says to add the drizzle at the end but I added the hoi sin mixture slightly during cooking drizzling the rest on the finished product. Add the drizzle (maximum of half the mixture) and sesame seeds to the duck. turns off.

Quickly boil wholemeal noodles (optional as you do not need carbs in this meal, My boyfriend ate the noodles I had the wrap with meat alone). Once cooked (3-4 minutes) drain and drizzle sesame oil to flavour.

To plate, place Hoisin Sesame Duck on each individual lettuce leaf in the middle for easy eatage. Then place the noodles in the middle (add the noodles to the wrap as you wish). Drizzle entire dish with left over Hoisin Lime dressing and douse with chilli oil for kick ( I use chinese fresh chilli oil which contains oil and red pepper flakes at the bottom, use the flakes for less oiliness)

Leave a Reply

