When in Rome

Rome is without a doubt the most romantic city in the world. The mixture between the smells of fresh sliced meats, warm bread and pasta, prosecco free flow, and artwork scattered at every corner makes it inexplicably charming. I ventured to Rome with no prior research on the city and low expectations. I was left quite unimpressed by the ‘amazing’ Paris so held no expectations to what Rome might be like. Nonetheless, my love for good italian food (and dishy men) meant that I was more than willing to give it a go.

And when in Rome, what did we do? Do as Romans do.

ALL PHOTOS OWNED AND COPYRIGHTED BY AYSE AVCI

When in Rome…

Visit the Colosseum 

260

332

378V

Visit St. Paul’s Cathedral

628

633

576

594

603

602

611

Eat Italian Gelato

1116

1122

Walk the Roman Forums

403

470

427

Look at one of the most famous works of art in the world… The Last Judgement

813
784

Walk through the Art Museums (Especially the Mural Room)

695

679

696

People Watch In the Square Campo De’ Fiori (My Favourite) and the other major Piazzas

1083

1103

1114

1010

Go to the Pantheon…

1061

1054

1040

1031

1007

Have a picnic in the Villa Borghese Park (Must do)

Visit a local store for fresh produce. Save yourself 30 euros and make your own antipasti with fresh cuts of cheese and meats, a refreshing bottle of prosecco.

951

929

938

Sit on the Spanish Steps (and window shop, pretend you can afford prada)

850

856

876

6 thoughts on “When in Rome

  1. I love, love, love Rome! Great photos capturing the beautiful aspects of this city! The only problem I have is that no other gelato I’ve had comes even close to the gelato I had in Rome — nothing compares! 🙂

    • Danny: I do agree. I am actually a savoury person and do not usually like ice cream but I ADORE Italian gelato. Something about its smooth texture and such an array of flavours

      I hear there’s a good gelato somewhere in LOndon, but yet to find it!

    • I’m so jealous ! It is so beautiful and the night life is amazing I highly recommend going to Trastevere district at Night, it’s buzzing, so many restaurants and people. Sipping a prosecco on the piazza was my favourite. U can get the wine in England but it tastes better drinking it in rome.

      If your a student I recommend visiting the grungy student district San Lorenzo at night after 11pm. So much character and the street art is amazing!

      Do tell me about ur experiences in rome, il be posting about my trip just outside rome as it was my favourite, do read it 🙂

      Xxx

  2. Really like your shots, colorful and vibrant. I was in Rome earlier this summer, couldn’t get enough of it. Wasn’t able to visit the Villa Borghese Park tho, will have to put it on the list for next time. Nice post ^__^

    • Tldarkroom: Villa Borghese was a highlight. The park is not amazing but its big and great to have a summertime picnic. Fresh cuts are cheap so putting it together was easy and choosing out ingredients was part of the fun.

      Villa Borghese is great for the view of the city alone.

      Thanks for reading and do subscribe ! X

Leave a Reply

