Rougaille

This Mauritian food is something my boyfriend and his family introduced me to. Its said to be a ‘sauce’ in most posts online but I found it to be a main dish in itself. It works as a side to a main dish, and my favourite time is actual as a meal in itself for breakfast with some bread. For those who eat cereal and toast and don’t believe in spice in the morning this can seem very strange, but I took quite a liking to it in the morning. It is a great way to get some of your 5 a day in a flavourful way. It’s also a welcome change to a salad with a meal as it incorporates many vegetable found in salads, but it cooked rather than cold with dressing. Now I am not Mauritian so I can’t officially state how genuine the way I make it is, though I have had it inย Mauritiusย with my boyfriends family and I don’t think I am too far off the mark.

Recipe

What you need:

Untitled

5 medium sized tomatoes

A dollop of Tomato Paste

1 tsp or Garlic Powder or fresh Garlic

1 tsp Ginger

A handful of Coriander

1 Onion

1 Green Chilli (or more if you like it fiery)

Red Chilli Powder to taste

Salt and Pepper

Olive Oil

1 Green Pepper

You can also add parsley but I am not much of a fan of it, and I don’t agree with parsley and coriander being mixed together. Also, green pepper is my addition because I like the flavour but it isn’t necessary. Feel free to play with the recipe and add veg like mushrooms which can also go well.

To cook it is relatively simple. You heat some olive oil in a frying pan then add your onions and garlic to cook until the onions loose transparency. Then add tomatoes and tomato paste and stir occasionally to ensure it doesn’t burn. Then tip in all the other ingredients. The consistency of the Rougaille should be thick enough that isn’t a sauce but not so thick that there are no juices. Especially if your using slightly unripe or less juicy tomatoes, add an extra douce of oil during cooking and some hot water to thin it out. When its all cooked and you can smell the chilly and spices, add the coriander just before serving.

Untitled

Tip: If you want it like a salsa dip to go alongside asian bread like chapati or puri, blend it to a smoother consistency.

Ta da!

Leave a Reply

